Lucas Samaras

Por que você está conduzindo esta entrevista?
Eu quero cristalizar a situação diária de conversar comigo mesmo. (…)
Se você estivesse sozinho no mundo você seria um artista?
Eu estou sozinho no mundo. (…)
Você é simpático com as pessoas?
Não. Eu sou preciso quanto aos meus sentimentos.
Você quer ser rico?
Não mais.
Por quê?
A riqueza é  uma profissão.
Você não quer riqueza?
Eu quero apenas o suficiente para viver e fazer o meu trabalho sem sentir que eu preciso dar algo por culpa ou generosidade.
Qual é o problema com a generosidade?
Ela perpetua uma aristocracia endinheirada. (…)
Por que você não dirige?
Eu não confio nos meus instintos assassinos.
Por que você quer um megafone, por que alcançar milhões?
Eu não quero alcançar milhões mas o equivalente a mim mesmo entre esses milhões.”

Trechos de “Another Autointerview” (1971), do artista Lucas Samaras, retirados do livro “Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art: Source Book of Artists Writings” (1996), editado por Peter Selz e Kristine Stiles (tradução e grifo meus).


English translation:

Why are you conducting this interview?
I want to crystalize the daily situation of talking to myself. (…)
If you were alone in the world would you be an artist?
I am alone in the world. (…)
Are you nice to people?
No. I am accurate about my feelings.
Do you want to be wealthy?
Not any more.
Why?
Wealth is a profession.
Don’t you want to have wealth?
I want just enough to live and do my work without feeling that I have to give something away out of guilt or generosity.
What’s wrong with generosity?
It perpetuates a moneyed aristrocracy. (…)
Why don’t you drive?
I don’t trust my killer instincts.
Why do you want a megaphone, why reach millions?
I don’t want to reach millions but the equivalent of myself among those millions.”

Excerpts from “Another Autointerview” (1971) by Lucas Samaras, from the book “Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art: Source Book of Artists Writings” (1996), edited by Peter Selz and Kristine Stiles (bold highlights not part of the original text).

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Deixe uma resposta

